OT: Getting started with audio recording/mixing

astream

Burning headbanger
Jul 24, 2009
One of my dreams have been to record and mix my own music. Who can give me some advice on a user-friendly audio editing software? Audacity seems to be too basic for me, Cubase seems to be too complicated. Is there anything in the middle?

I have:
- A decent computer
- External soundcard (M-Audio Fast Track Pro)
- Microphones: 1 x SM58, 1 x ADK A-51 (Condenser Mic)
- 1 x ZOOM Q3, 1 x Zoom H2N

What I just ordered:
Harley Benton HB-T (mic for the acoustic guitar)

So far I have been able to:
Make recordings with the two ZOOMs and to import the audio clips into Audacity. But I think that program is not so good ... or I am not so good.

My aim is to record "bluesy acoustic guitar based hard rock", with drums, vocals and bass. I am not a beginner but also no professional. Yet :lol:

Do I need any more stuff?

Thanks! :headbang:

good luk,i heard reaper is alot better than audacity,theres a good suipport network on the forums etc,ive only ever used audacity thru my line 6 to record basic stuff,id love to get better at recording:),ill post some clips soon

Sounds cool!

Looking forward to hear some of the stuff you have recorded. :)

Guess getting solid sound when recording the acoustic guitar will be a challenge. Any experience with that?

An important reason for me to look for another program that Audacity are the effects. Have no clue how to "brighten" up my acoustic sound ... now it just sounds like a little "box".

I use Sony Vegas for mixing. Yeah it's a video editing program, but at least I know how to use it! :lol: Actually I'm really good with Vegas. :oops:

ok, that could be on option then. are you using it for recording live music? and most importantly: can a non-expert in music editing use it? I guess I am not, but I can do great pancakes! :headbang: