Peavey 5150 pre-amp out vs effects send out; guitar input; impedance and dbu

toebens

New Metal Member
Feb 10, 2013
hi,
disclamer - i'm a newb and i'm having several (very) stupid questions :loco:

Little funny story upfront: I must admit that i blew my soundblaster gold back when i was really young: I connected the speaker out of my solid state 80watts amp to the line in of the soundblaster. :lol: The amps preamp out or headphones jack was just too silent - no matter where i connected it to - line in or mic in. Therefor i tried it - blewing it :zombie:

ok now i read that a lot of people in here that own a peavey 5150 prefer the effects send out instead of the pre-amp. I wondered why this is and looked up the manual:

http://www.peavey.com/assets/literature/manuals/80302108.pdf

The manual contains a diagram. There it shows that there is a - just another - "tube stages" after the effects send / return section. The preamp out comes after that additional tube stage.

1) Can you tell me what tube stage this is? Is this maybe one of the 12AX7 preamp tubes? (i.e. 4x 12AX7 until efx send out and then 1x 12AX7 before preamp out)

----

I'm still a newb in regard to all this. Yesterday, about 2 decades after that soundblaster gold story, i then finally read about line level, mic in, impedance, high and low impedance and dbu levels... but i'm still having some questions.

Back to the peavey manual - there is also a spec page that lists:

Effects send:
Load impedance 47K ohms or greater
Nominal output: -10dBV, 300mV RMS (this should be about -8 dbu; http://www.sengpielaudio.com/calculator-db-volt.htm)

Preamp output:
Load impedance 47K ohms or greater
Nominal output: +10dBV, 3V RMS (this should be about +12 dbu)

The phone type input jack on my todays audio interface (UA-101) for high impedance (HiZ) lists: -36 to +4 dBu