Recording Drop Bb guitars - tips needed

Oscar NWB

Trust your ears
Hello,

I am relatively new to such low tunnings, and my bandmates observed my recorded guitar tone now feels congested and less defined. My setup is as follows:

ESP Eclipse (JB/Jazz) + BB Preamp (as a boost, optional) + Dual Recto Reborn + Marshall 4x12 cab (V30s) + Shure sm57 + Focusrite Scarlett + Reaper

I would appreciate any tips including amp gain/eq settings suggested, mic positioning, etc.

I am currently favoring mic placement halfway between center and speaker limit, moderate output level, CH3 Modern (pots mostly centered).

Very best and thanks in advance,
Oscar

A few suggestions,

1. Check tuning every 5 seconds. lol
2. Perhaps pulling the mic closer to the center of the speaker to kill some lows and get more highs?
3. Scoop some low mids?
4. Compress the low mids with a multi band compressor?

Just some ideas.

\m/

Are you doing any post EQ in Reaper?

I find Rectifiers really weird to dial in a good recorded tone.

IMO, they also need a boost in front to sound tight.

- NEW, thick strings. If they don't have the metallic "zing" then change them.
- With Rectos, it helps to boost them (with a Tube Screamer or something similar that will tighten the lows, NOT a normal clean boost) going in and dial the gain on the amp back. Also, remember that boosting the treble knob on a Recto will boost the gain too. Play with the different combinations to get the best balance of definition and gain.
- Dig in when you play, and know how to punch those strings to pull the notes through the distortion. You can get a lot of definition by just focusing on it when you're tracking. Understanding this as a player can make a HUGE improvement in your tone.
- Dial back the low mids a bit. Don't rely on the guitars to sound huge on their own - HUGE sounding recordings come from the guitar, bass, and kick/snare carrying the load together.