Recording Drum room tracks

fistula

Producer/Mixing Engineer
Jul 18, 2006
hey guy

just wanna know is anyone of you record the drum room track?

and what mics are you using for it?
and how you're placng the mics?

hey
i started off recording drums first, (as im a drummer)
this is my kit:
drums.JPG

at the moment, i use a pair of Oktava Mk012's for overheads, a sm57 on the snare, and two cheap dynamic mics on the bass drums, which are later sampled

the overheads are set as a spaced pair, equal distance from the snare
a sample of just the overheads can be heard here http://www.fromtheabyss.com/overheads.mp3
and thats pretty much it
heres the song of which the that overheads track was from.
http://www.fromtheabyss.com/myspaceplayer/rootofpersecution.mp3

EDIT: i just realised you meant drum ROOM
oh well :lol:

How is the sound different when you remove the resonance skins on the kicks? Is it common to do when recording metal?
well if i intended to record them, and use the actual track, i would put the reso heads back on, and use proper mics
but theyre just off so i have access to the back easier
the sound is more, well, resonant :lol: with the reso head on, otherwise its just a thud, which is fine for my configuration

I'll post a sound sample later but this video has some clips inside the tracking room if you're interested.

We are using:
3 - SM58s on the rack toms
1 - AT25 on the floor tom
2 - ATM 25s in the bass drums
2 - Xplosion Car subwoofers in the bass drum (for the REALLY lows)
2 - AT 4060s overhead
1 - Nuemann TLM103 in the middle of the room
2 - SM57s on the snare
and finally
2 - DDRUM triggers with the signal sent to a Alesis DM5

But here's the video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-z2rpzsH2qY

hey guy

just wanna know is anyone of you record the drum room track?

and what mics are you using for it?
and how you're placng the mics?

Are you talkin' bout ambient mics and not overheads or both?