Rythm guitar EQ/panning/recording/noob questions

X14Halo

May 28, 2010
I am a drummer, and I have a guitarist friend send me his recordings so that I can play over top of them. I am trying to get a more professional panned sound out of his guitar and I was wondering if somebody could point me in the right direction. Currently, his guitar is hooked up to some kind of little box with a bunch of pedals, and then he has a line out going into the line in on the back of his computer. The guitar sound is not bad, but it doesn't have the full surround sound of guitars in recordings i listen to. I was reading that you should record in mono, and then duplicate the track - panning one 100% right and the other 100% left. I have tried this with his tracks, but it still doesn't sound quite right pan-wise. I was also reading that you should use 2 different takes, panning one left and the other right. We are going to try this soon...but is there anything major we are missing out on? I realize that I may need to do some EQ'ing and all that, but I am just trying to get the pan thing down first....any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

you need to have 2 takes of each rhythm track, then pan 100 L and 100 R

if you just duplicate the track it sounds like shit!

do what chdrummer said..

and as far as eq wise...send your guitars to a bus, then for eq usually boost around 8k, cut around 4k, boost again around 800 and if it sounds thin boost between 90 to 100 hz

high pass to 50hz and low pass around 10 to 12k

good look

another quick question...if we wanted to add a lead guitar or bass to this, do you have any general recommendations as far as panning EQ'ing goes for those?

another quick question...if we wanted to add a lead guitar or bass to this, do you have any general recommendations as far as panning EQ'ing goes for those?

Bass in the center.