Savatage - The UM Interview with Jon Oliva

Mark

Not blessed, or merciful
Apr 11, 2001
Sarf Lundin, Innit
[This interview was conducted for us by Krissie Anderson -- Mark]

savatage_article.jpg

I have been listening to metal music in its various forms for almost 14 years now. If someone were to ask me to recommend one band to them, I would have to say give Savatage a listen, you can't go wrong! Although Savatage has had a lot of changes over the years, both musically and with their line-up, they have managed to keep their music wonderful and interesting. I am hooked!

Ultimate Metal: Hi, Jon, how are you doing?

Jon: Very well, thanks.

UM: I'm very excited to have this chance to talk to you-thanks for taking your time to talk to me. I have to tell you, though, that Savatage is my absolute favorite band. You guys have been the one band closest to my heart for the past 14 years. I really like the new album Poets and Madmen, and initially I was thinking this chat would be mostly about that, but then I realized that you guys probably get asked the same questions all of the time.

Jon: Oh, always.

UM: So I want to take this opportunity to warn you that these may not be your average questions. A lot of the things I am going to ask are just things I have wondered myself.

Jon: Sure, I will answer anything.

UM: First of all, when are you guys coming to Colorado?

Jon: Hopefully August, August-September, we will be doing some West Coast. We came as far as Texas. We were in San Antonio a few days ago, so I think when we get back from the festival-we're doing a festival run in Europe-when we get back from that, we are supposed to come back out to America. We may be doing some American dates with Judas Priest. That's all in the making right now.

UM: I know the metal scene in Europe is much larger than in the states, even the larger cities.

Jon: It's huge, yeah. It's one of the most popular types of music over there.