Scales over chords tips/help

H-evolve

Apr 21, 2014
Montreal, Canada
Hi all,

I don't write too often in here, but I do read a lot of stuff.

I've been playing guitar for quite some times, but I feel like my playing is not what it should be, considering I've been playing for 22 years. I guess I am ok at shredding or playing lead guitars, but there is one thing I feel I am not so great at, and it is creating my own guitar solos.

I know the main 7 modes (but not in every position). Though I do not know how to properly use them. I have read a lot of stuff on this forum and others, yet I don't feel I understand how to work with them. I have recently purchased the "Guitar Grimoire Scales and Modes", another book called "Scales over Chords, Foundation of Melodic Soloing" and I also have the "The Complete Contemporary Guitarist". They are all nice books, but I still don't feel I know how to use scales after reading them. Especially when it comes to metal songs.

My main BIG problem is that those books explain, for example, what modes to use on what types of chords, but they never refer to the damn power chords (A5, C5, etc). So everything related to "Check if the 3rd is a half step or a full step in the chord, to know if you can run a minor mode" does not apply easily with power chords.

Moreover, am I suppose to only play scales where the scale root (first note) correponds to the chord root? For example, I made some attempts at running some licks using all modes from the C major (the 7 modes with no sharps or flats), in a riff progession of, say, A5, G5, E5, F5. But then this sounds quite boring... it feels like only one scale repeated at different positions.

So, I guess you guys can see my point. I would really like any advice, material I could buy to educate myself. DVDs perhaps, from some known guys, other good books, etc.