Schubert fuckin rules

Apr 16, 2004
Any comments on non Mozart, Bach, or Beethoven Classical, Baroque, Romantic, or post Romantic music.

I'm not saying the 'big three' are bad it just gets tired.

Personally I'm more of a Romantic and post-Romantic kinda guy (although I studied classical for WAY too long)

Some of my favorite composers are Rachmaninof, Rimsky-Korsakov, Chopin, Schubert, Dvorak, Berlioz, Mahler, Stravinsky, and Danny Elfman

Generally, I find that this kind of concert music has been the most positively influential to metal, it helped steer metal toward a more progressive and dramatic direction.

I quite dislike Classical and Baroque, especially in metal where it usually puts on a dress and sounds generally ... err... festive :Smug:
(i.e. power metal cheese)

baroque is kind of pussy (though good melodies)

classical only had mozart (hayden sucks, as did bach's kids)

romantic... oh god romantic music kicks my ass... dvorak, tchaicovsky, liszt... fucking metal... haha :headbang:

you sir are a jackass

had it not been for bach, bass players would probably still be playing shitty root notes and what not

goddamnit that comment got me too frustrated to even think clearly

nobody said anything bad about bach, i said his kids sucked. just cause the music he made was floo-floo doesn't mean it sucked.

the alumnus said:
only mozart? what about beethoven?

Beethoven basically bagan the Romantic era of music with his 3rd Symphony. He had decided to do something different and break with the formulaic drivel of classical (no offense folks, but fuck did I hate being told that "it is improper to move an adjacent vocal harmony in parallel octaves" by my freakin' teachers :yell: ).
Even Ludwig realized Haydn was a fruit! :Spin: