Shredding

Eternal_Frost

Mar 24, 2004
Nanaimo , BC Canada
Ive been playing bass for 3 years and recently my brother bought a guitar. I've been practicing it for quite some time and from what I've been told , Im very good at it ( which kinda sucks cause I've been playing bass for 3 years and have not heard much praise or compliments , but as soon as I pick up a guitar and practice it for a few months , the compliments roll in lol )
Anyways im interested in starting up a blackend power metal band with neo-classical influences , and I was wondering if anyone here can give me a link/show me tips on shredding , techniques , videos , etc , etc. thanks!
- Dan :headbang:

Eternal_Frost said:
Ive been playing bass for 3 years and recently my brother bought a guitar. I've been practicing it for quite some time and from what I've been told , Im very good at it ( which kinda sucks cause I've been playing bass for 3 years and have not heard much praise or compliments , but as soon as I pick up a guitar and practice it for a few months , the compliments roll in lol )
Anyways im interested in starting up a blackend power metal band with neo-classical influences , and I was wondering if anyone here can give me a link/show me tips on shredding , techniques , videos , etc , etc. thanks!
- Dan :headbang:
Just start out with both full chords (multiple strings) and scales. You can get those from a simple guitar instruction book. Even the ones you pick up with the guy on the cover that looks like he is straight out of the 50's is invaluable. Much of the technique will actually come on it's own. Those odd chords may never get used unless you play a lot of clean or acoustic, but they are extremely valuable for note selection and once you become an intermediate player, you will appreciate them.

Bryant