Slate VTM

^+1, hahahaha.

It's all good though! Better late than never.

Basically Brian; it's a fucking NO BRAINER. Buy it, and pop it on your 2BUSS (in bypass) set it to 30 ips, FG9 tape and the 1/2" Machine (Normal Bias); then turn that baby on.

You will be FLOORED.

I got an email too, it was for a 50% off for users of VCC. Maybe that's what he meant to bring up. I'm really thinking hard, but I just spent $300 on the PT10 upgrade. This is worth the $100 then?

I've been using it for a couple of months now, and so far I've been loving it. Much like VCC, if you mix with it on every channel from the start of a mix, things just seem to fall together quicker. It is a bit more obvious than VCC though, and I do think that there can be too much of it. A little goes a long way!

The FG9 tape is very nice for modern stuff, but I love the FG456 to bits for ambient things or synths in general. Very colourful and vibey.

When I started using it, I turned the standard hiss-setting down quite a bit, because I thought it was a bit too much of the good stuff when stacking it on multiple tracks. I've also turned the flutter up pretty high, but that's personal taste. I love warbly high frequencies! Reminds me of recording shit on a casette-deck as a kid.

I use Kramer MPX and I'm quite happy with it but for $100 I'm super tempted. However 2 questions:
- How VTM sounds compared to MPX? Really better or just different?
- Is VTM a cpu eater?

I use Kramer MPX and I'm quite happy with it but for $100 I'm super tempted. However 2 questions:
- Is VTM a cpu eater?

Curious about the first two as well. I use MPX on my 2bus, vocal, drum, and guitar busses because it's a CPU hog but sounds good. If VTM sounds better and isn't as much of a hog then Slate just took another hundy from me.