SOS Article about unpaid internships and possible legal issues.

Jind

Grrrr!!! (I'm a bear)
Mar 7, 2009
Interesting article in this months Sound On Sound about how litigation currently underway in the fashion industry relating to unpaid internships could eventually impact the recording industry.

http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/apr12/articles/off-the-record-0412.htm

While I don't foresee myself ever interning at a studio, as recording for me is a hobby or at best occasionally helping out some friends, what are some of the folks looking to do this as a career think about this issue?

ok here's my 2 cents:

I was an unpaid intern for about 6 months when I started. While it is literally slave labor, I was compensated pretty heavily in education. Does it pay the bills? not at all but it did end up shaping me into the successful (relatively speaking) engineer I've become.

Reality is, getting into the commercial studio business is a young mans game. If you aren't willing or are unable to work for free or basically free, then it's not an industry for you. Even now I know of studios in town that pay runners 25-50 dollars a day. Don't like it? quit, cause there's 100 other kids who can and will work for that in order to learn. People will easily drop 20,000 on recording school, but then aren't willing to pay the same in labor to learn 10 times more.

Obviously there are people who straight up use and abuse people with this system, and that's not cool...but I genuinely feel it's a necessary evil. Know a limit to how long you are willing to do it versus how much you learn. discuss it with your employer, and figure out what the reality is of getting a paid position and how long it'll take.

If you eliminate the ability for interning for free or below minimum wage, you will create an industry where studios have tiny staffs of really talented , specialized people, with no way to learn from them unless you book your own sessions.