Starting a studio. The business side of things. Share your wisdom

AudioGeekZine

arsehole know-it-all
Jan 1, 2008
Vancouver
www.audiogeekzine.com
I'm not sure if there's any kind of resource for people trying to open a studio out there.

So share your tips and knowledge on the business side of starting a studio.

Accounting.
Business plans.
insurance.
permits.
registering a business name.
charging tax.
Overhead and the cost of business.
Loans, grants, and banks.
Income tax and not getting fucked at the end of the year. :heh:
Advertising and promotion.
Attracting Clients.
:loco:

There's a ton of stuff to know about running a studio besides how the gear works. If you make money, or intend to with your studio (of any size) you need to know this shit.

If you've got any knowledge on this stuff please share.

Oznimbus/Spectre sound, we're in the same province so your advice would really help me.

i'm no expert, but all i have to say is from the experience of being around my dad who's been self empolyed in various jobs, musical and non-musical for the last 50 years

Don't ever be tempted to break the law on taxes, declare absolutely everything. It's not worth the risk or the stress.

HOWEVER: you can pass off an awful lot of stuff as business expenses, all stationary you ever buy for example, any computers that are used for accounts or business communications, petrol for any journey that includes anything business related etc.......
the list goes on. Saves a lot of money on taxes while staying legal

EDIT: not sure how the tax laws work outside the UK though