That Deftones style mix... Questions

melovine

Feb 10, 2009
I have many favorite bands, but as far as favorite mixes go though the Deftones are my #1. I am recording at home now and i am rather new to mixing but im starting to "develop my mixing ear" i believe. I am going to start preproduction with my band in the next few weeks on some new tunes and i would really like some general pointers to get me in the direction im trying to get to.

What I like about their mixes:

the kick and snare are very present in the mix but don't seem to over power the bass or guitars.

the overheads tend to sound lower in the mix (i am a fan of lower overheads) but never seem to get lost in the mix

the bass blends extremely well with the guitar (is this because of post production or more so because of gear and playing style?)

their mixes have so much more depth than mine do

Should i try and find stems of one of their mixes and analyze it that way???

Here is a clip of something i was working on recently to give you and idea of what kind of sounds im getting at the moment.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/8136720/The Great Dying.mp3

Appreciate any tips!

you're not toooo far from that "S/T" Deftones-style sound.... drums need to be louder but the sounds are good!

GTRs may have too many mids...carpenter's tone is really weird so you may always have a bit of a struggle on your hands with that one.

Plus, fucking Terry Date did all of their good shit (i do love Diamond Eyes and Saturday Night Wrist, don't get me wrong!) and he's a legend amongst audio Gods....

i love deftones as well, and i've had a lot of the same quandaries as you. im relatively inexperienced myself, but i think i can help you out still.

first of all, your mix sounds really great already, so well done!