The Film's of William Friedkin: Discussion & Analysis

It's pretty? Nice.
Lol. It's not one of Friedkin's better film's compared to some of his classics, but for a military court-room drama it hits the mark. Tommy Lee Jones and Samuel L. Jackson put in strong performances. In my opinion it is worth a view.

I'm rarely a fan of courtroom dramas. Feels like they always end up turning into "yOu cAn'T hAnDLe tHe tRuTh!!1!"-tier overacting.

it is an inherently stagey uncinematic subgenre for sure, i’m told anatomy of a murder is an incredible one though.

Reactions: CiG
it is an inherently stagey uncinematic subgenre for sure, i’m told anatomy of a murder is an incredible one though.

I've heard about that one! Cheers for reminding me about it. It's not so much the courtroom element I dislike it's the drama part, so the idea of a more anatomical presentation of the genre really appeals to me. The performative stuff is just a bit corny is all.

Agreed... as a lawyer myself I can rarely stomach that stuff. I wish directors would make more gritty unglamorised courtroom dramas.

Anatomy of a Murder is a standout for sure, as is Kubrick's Paths of Glory. 12 Angry Men is a classic but it all takes place in the jury room with no lawyers involved.

Witness for the Prosecution (Billy Wilder) is great too, but it is totally stagey, just clever enough to get away with it.

Looks like Friedkin did a remake of 12 Angry Men 3 years before Rules of Engagement. He must've been really feeling the whole court drama genre at that time.

I've actually seen that but totally forgot it was Friedkin. I remember it being pretty faithful to the original, and therefore pretty pointless. George C Scott put in a solid turn as the antagonistic juror - the role filled by Lee Cobb in the original.

Agreed... as a lawyer myself I can rarely stomach that stuff. I wish directors would make more gritty unglamorised courtroom dramas.