Tom Editing

Matt Smith

THEOCRACY
Jun 11, 2004
Athens, GA
www.theocracymusic.com
For those of you who erase the tom tracks between hits as opposed to just gating them, how do you know how much "tail" to leave on the hits? Say I have a tom roll or pattern, and immediately after one of the hits is some cymbal or hat work. Obviously the cymbals tend to come through loud and clear in the tom mics, and sound like crap, but if I chop the track before the cymbal hit the drum has absolutely no resonance. Happens a lot, especially since tom rolls are usually followed by cymbal crashes.
What is the best way to handle this? You pros out there, feel free to tell me how it's done...

Thanks,

I'm not a pro, but i'll give my opinion anyways.
I'm usually not THAT picky with the tom editing, if a cymbal or hihat hit is right after the tom roll or hit i leave it, the sound of the toms is a priority and you can always get a lot of the cymbals out by EQing it where it gets audible on the tom track.

If this is a real problem, try to replace the last hit by a sampled one. If you didn't record separate hits of each element in the drumkit, try to find one somewhere in your song that you could use. Hope that helps.

Personally, I ride the faders for the tom tracks instead, sometimes never bringing them all the way down. I prefer this to muting or erasing the spaces in between tom hits as it feels a little more natural and fluid, as well as adds some extra ambience. This often really adds to the track, which is usually pretty dry sounding in metal, without giving it that huge room verb.

Thanks for the tips. It's not any one specific problem, I just mean in general. Like is there a set length that you group fade all the tom tracks out after the transient, or do you go hit by hit and do them on a case-by-case basis?