Tone tips?

BL1NDSIDE-J

Dec 19, 2010
Hey fellas as most of you probably know I am a fucking noob when it comes to this shit so, if any of you could offer any tips for getting a good death metal tone I would be appreciative. I have a 5150 with an avatar cab and v30's my guitar is a esp mh-350 with emg 81/85 pu's right now my tone is marginal at best. I also have an ibby ts808 for OD I've been running on the rhythm channel with pre-gain all the way up and the crunch button off which gets me close but I'm not satisfied also bass 3/4 mids 7/8 highs 5/6.

id try taking theids down to around 3 putting the crunch on the channel and maybe take the bass up a bit. its hard to say without clips but a lot of the guys here know the 5150 inside out and use a tubescreamer with it. you can check andy sneaps settings on one of the stickies but obviously its gunna change for each player

Thanks for the input. I cannot put up any clips right now as I am posting from the public library :(. I was just kind of wanting a starting point then I could adjust from there.

Way too much mids.
The Tube Screamer is already giving the mids a healthy kick (assuming you're using it correctly), so somewhere like 2-4 on the mids on the amp should be plenty

Crank the bass, and especially the resonance to almost max. With EMGs and a tubescreamer you will be very middy already. 5150 has a ton of mids even when it is set to zero. It's had to say exactly, without hearing your cab.

But I'd say somewhere like:

LEAD channel:

pre gain - 5
bass - 7
mids - 1 or 2
treb - 5

res - 10
pres - 8

That should get you a pretty good start. If you want to go a bit older school death metal, you'd probably need to look at getting a graphic EQ and sucking out some more mids. Of course this will sound brutal on it's own but not as good/cutting in mix/band scenario...