vocal coaching/prep

aramism

Dec 2, 2006
New York, NY
www.myspace.com
i think most records live and die by the performance of the vocals. so i kinda wanted to have a database for vocal warmup techniques, any tricks/tips from producers, as well as any audio warmups or things of that nature.

i actually like to have plenty of different teas and honey and stuff laying around for vocalists to drink and like to limit them to anywhere from 30min-2 hours depending on the performer before they break or stop for the day.

obviously when time is of the essence you don't have that luxury but for getting great performances most of the time you want to condition the vocals properly i believe. i could be wrong, i go off my own methods here, was curious at others.

I actually don't like her videos. Not that I'm a pro and can say otherwise, but (at least on the first one) there is a lot of just interviews with guys saying how bad ass it is, but little to gain from it. Plus, it just seems hard for me to take seriously. I've tried some of the exercises on it and either I'm not doing em right or they aren't explained fully or something...but yeah, I'm kinda put off by them.

Having had a lot of singing tuition myself, in a variety of styles, i'd say mellissa know's her shit, and well she's doing something right, otherwise you wouldn't get Randy Blythe spouting praise :p

however the videos are balls unless you've had some previoius tuition as a lot of the techniques she breezes over aren't that easy to do properly. It's done wonders for me though, no more pain :p

no1 is lots of drinks but nothing cold. Other than that and a few warmups you're beyond what you can really do for someone in a short space of time in a studio. Look up singing warmups from classical people, they'll work fine for any singing (just dont get anyone doing their actuall singing technique for death metal haha)