What makes a good review?

Russell

__
Jul 15, 2001
The starry attic
www.russellgarwood.co.uk
In your opinion, what makes a good review? :) What do you like to see in one?

For example do you like or dislike it when a reviewer: goes through each song individually/writes a paragraph on a bands history/lists the good and bad qualities of each instrument/expresses their own opinions very strongly/writes a more factual review etc. etc.?

Well? :)

I think that reviews should be more objective than subjuctive... For example describing how the songs are, how the quality is and so on instead of only telling their emotions of the cd... Of course they have to let some emotions through, that is what makes the interview, right?... If they for example write bad about something I don't buy the album... and if they write that it's the best cd ever I always get dissapointed when listening to it...

I agree.

I'm a music journalist myself, and I've always been taught that objectivism is the only way to go. When one writes objectively, no extra expectations will be created for the reader...it's the most universal way of sharing an opinion.

Can't wait to review "Deliverance"....:)