Where do I start with this dry vocal track? (DAW is Mixcraft Pro 7)

keenly

New Metal Member
Sep 2, 2016
I am newbie trying to mix for my on personal home theater. I am not a musician or engineer, just a fan of heavy metal. I have 400GB of stems and raw multis, and need some advice please.

I have Mixcraft pro 7, Audacity and a bunch of plugins.

I have researched EQ and a bit about reverb but I can not find anything that starts from scratch and guide one through in a SIMPLE manner.

This is King Diamond raw vocal for Welcome to The Sabbath. It is pretty terrible. He has a great falsetto but the rest is horrendous.

Where to start? Any quick tips to radically change this abomination?

I want a large somewhat airy, but less whiny bitch ass sound

https://www.dropbox.com/s/yfpy0qbiivqiaqm/Vox_1.zip?dl=0

cheers

Paul

Hey man! I don't want to be an asshole but here is my reply:
First - I'd suggest to read the threads about mixing vox here.
Second - I'd suggest to try everything you can from your own so you can also learn.

Hey man! I don't want to be an asshole but here is my reply:
First - I'd suggest to read the threads about mixing vox here.
Second - I'd suggest to try everything you can from your own so you can also learn.

I have tried a bunch of times and read everything I can get my hands on.

it´s not done in "a bunch of times", more like years. Also, you have to accept that you can´t always transform the source into something entirely different that still sounds natural :)

... are you sure that´s an original King Diamond recording? o_O

it´s not done in "a bunch of times", more like years. Also, you have to accept that you can´t always transform the source into something entirely different that still sounds natural :)

... are you sure that´s an original King Diamond recording? o_O

The idea of these forums is so that isn't the case, right?

If everyone should just do everything themselves, end all forums now, I tell thee!!