Fallujah..anyone? Atmospheric Death Metal of the highest caliber

I like some of the songs on the album but the production is horrendous, detracting to the point that I don't listen to it.

I like some of the songs on the album but the production is horrendous, detracting to the point that I don't listen to it.

People keep mentioning the production but I don't really hear what others seem to be hearing with it, sounds like a lot of other modern albums. Then again I'm not really an expert on such things.

People keep mentioning the production but I don't really hear what others seem to be hearing with it, sounds like a lot of other modern albums. Then again I'm not really an expert on such things.

I envy you. It actually hurts my ears and starts to give me a headache.

Like a lot of modern albums? Compressed to the point of distorsion?

Being compressed is a pretty common criticism is it not for a lot of modern stuff? When I listen to the Flesh Prevails I can't say I get a headache or find it a struggle listen to. When I think bad production I think of Metallica's St Anger or Maiden's X Factor, the Flesh Prevails isn't either of those.

If you're interested, there was a very long, detailed conversation about the production here:

http://www.angrymetalguy.com/fallujah-flesh-prevails/

At one point, the guy who mixed it actually jumped into the thread to defend the record. I think what drove this conversation was the DR rating of 3. Most brickwalled records are DR5. This one seems to take it even further. Although this was supposedly a conscious decision by the band, it seems like a poor one. I've always been a stickler for production. And the production here is really bad.

I like Fallujah. It's a good band, is doing something "different" (at least for my perspective) and I like it. About the mixed of the record, I gonna say that is ok for me, because the vocals are kind of in the back, which is good for me since the growls are not my preferred.