101 rules of prog part 2

washer9

New Metal Member
Sep 24, 2004
yeah i saw that stuff on a drummer forum not too long ago. www.drumsmith.com.

its a forum where we talk mostly about drum gear and drumming related things. there was this guy that posted that thread. the 101 rules of prog. they were laughing at prog music and technical music in general. i answered back at them and as always very politely i told them the truth. it is their own lack of abilities that make them laugh at technical music.

chuck schuldiner said it in the song mentally blind.

(from the mentally blind come ideas that are poison,take away the power,a shallow person you will find.
what would you do without your pathetic narrow-minded approach to life that reflects your lack of abilities)

i have been playing drums for 14 years and a lot of people tried to embark me on commercial music. they wanted to have their songs playing on the radio and all that trendy stuff. i told them that i am a drummer, but a musician first and that my priority is not success but my growth. i want to gain the most knowledge and play challenging music.

my musical evolution led me to spastic ink and particularly the drumming of bobby jarzombek. clearly the most advanced player i have ever heard.

even a freakin computer powered drum machine cannot duplicate what he does on a drumset cause nobody is smart enough or talented enough in real life to program it to duplicate bobby.

i think that you made a good point about bobby cause they're always comparing him to a 'computer' or a 'machine' and it really annoys me. It wouldn't sound even 1% similar to what bobby plays even if you would program a drum machine to play exactly the same sounds...