6505 probs

PostMortem1666

Ocean Planet is on burn
Jul 10, 2007
Oklahoma, US
i just got a brand ass new 6505 today with a marshall 1960a cab. i started playing with it without anything in front of the amp and the distortion is kinda fuzzy. but i also only had it on 1. i was wondering if this is how it is for everyone. also the bright switch doesnt really make an audible difference and the presence knob is the same way until it hits 9. could there be a tube fucked up? Im planning on getting new tubes for it anyway so what kind should i look into and what would they do to my sound?

Your problems might just be because of the low volume. Tubes wouldn't really have much to do with those problems. Do a search...tubes have been discussed a lot. Peaveys usually ship with pretty good tubes.

i just got a brand ass new 6505 today with a marshall 1960a cab. i started playing with it without anything in front of the amp and the distortion is kinda fuzzy. but i also only had it on 1. i was wondering if this is how it is for everyone. also the bright switch doesnt really make an audible difference and the presence knob is the same way until it hits 9. could there be a tube fucked up? Im planning on getting new tubes for it anyway so what kind should i look into and what would they do to my sound?

Nope... Nothing wrong with it... welcome to the world of the 5150/6505...

Crank the volume to about 4 or 5... the presence doesnt really do anything until about 8 or 9...

Have fun...:)

never go higher than 3 on the volume on my 6505+
+1

WTF? I've got mine on 5 going through two cabs and I'm not sure if it will cut through a rehearsal situation yet.

Wow, that´s pretty much. Do you mic your drummer and push his stuff over your PA or what ;) ?
In most rehearsel / live situations I got mine on 3, it´s sweet tone there and kinda loud enough to get through all those others noise.