A crazy story

scorpio01169

Aug 6, 2006
San Antonio, Texas
....but true

for divorce, my old landlord decided he needed his house back. well i had to find a place big enough for my studio and it had to be a house, not an apartment. but anyway i i found a house on the you gotta have some kinda money side of town (JBroll knows this area...by Churchill high school) any ways the landlord a white guy was really really nice to me, i am a black guy. everything is going good we get the the rent price squared away and im thinking yes it's nice it's got a garage converted to a den i can use as a studio...then he ask me what do i do....

me: " i am a musician "

him: (with that look) " well let me check your credit and we'll see how it goes"

why in the hell did i tell him i was a musician....i never heard from him again

So do you have good credit or is there some other reason he hasn't contacted you? Yeah, most people assume musicians are starving artists...and I wouldn't expect the average white guy in the South not to have some kind of prejudice, even if they denied it. Sad but true.

my credit is fine....i know he wasnt racist....everything was great until i told him i was a musician...but i thought it was funny cause you know how alota black peeps say he didnt give me the job cause im a black man....well now i can say he didnt give the house cause im a musician

Yeah, San Antonio isn't really the place where people go to get rich off of music.

For those who haven't been around San Antonio much, Churchill HS is basically the 'fuck you' part of the rich part of town - think rich-bitch-spoiled-brat teen movie 'rich' mixed with Coming To America 'fuck you' - and honestly I'd never tell a person there that I'm a musician if money or property were involved. Hell, if you told him you were an audio engineer he'd have heard 'engineer' and equated that with 'smart and loaded', but some people are just annoying.