A question about solos

Jul 30, 2005
Hey Guys, I am new to this forum but I had a musical questions for you guys. I have been playing guitar for about seven years but I have just started to work on my scales. Could you guys tell me what scales you like to use and what musical rules and stuff you pay attention to when writing a solo? Thanks

Statler Waldorf

Statler Waldorf said:
Could you guys tell me what scales you like to use and what musical rules and stuff you pay attention to when writing a solo? Thanks

Statler Waldorf

Hi. I dont play guitar but dont make your life harder...I mean if you choose a scale and sounds good its good¡¡ As simple as that.:headbang:

You have been playing guitar for about seven years and i guess you have a decent level so you can combine different techniques ( sweep picking, tapping etc) while you are playing a solo just like Romeo does.

I see people asking about what scales other players use and such all the time... my advice is, learn every scale you can. All seven diatonic modes, the pentatonic scale, harmonic and melodic minor, phrygian dominant, and even a few of those weird sounding "made up" scales. Then use whatever you want. A bit of theoretical knowledge will teach you what to use where for what sound.

Don't focus so much on scales. Find a scale you like and learn to use it on every tone. focus more about Arpeggios (sweap picking), speed picking and taping that would be so much more usefull, Then you maybe could start to learn every fucking scale on this planet.

That is my advice.

You can't use every scale to every chord. And you know that probably. Soloing depends really much of the chords. Of course if you have some minor chord (7,9 etc) you can use minor, phrygian, harmoni minor, minor pentatonic, dorian etc.. (if you have chord from C. The soloing doesent have to go in C... Check to MODES from somewhere)