Advice needed (early to mid 80's metal sound)

Jun 15, 2005
Hey guys \m/\m/ apologies in advance for being yet another irritating n00b!

I'd like to capture or recreate that classic 80's heavy metal and thrash sound with my band. Can you help?

I'm new to music production but because we're broke we're having to learn how to do everything ourselves lol I studied sound engineering for a little while at a local college but they were teaching us how to produce pop music so I quit. I want to learn how to produce metal (but can't find anywhere that'll teach anyone)

I'm talking about the raw tonal character from the early WASP records up to Megadeth's Rust in Peace album (I know that was a 90's album but I think it's their best sounding album)

I'm determined to have that kind of sound and feel to my bands recordings.

I'm not happy with the way modern metal sounds, it sounds like it's trying to hard to be heavy and loud instead of just being naturally heavy and loud. Those 80's albums are full of character and atmosphere, how did they pull it off?

What amps did they use? How did they mic them etc

I'd really appreciate ANY help!!!

Marshalls (modified) and Mesas (Mark IIc & III). For guitar amp, my advice: ADA MP-1. It just screams "80's metal". Mic's used, Shure 57's and Senheisser 421's were very popular even back then. Passive pickups (for the most part). Don't be afraid of reverb, especially on drums and vocals. And snare samples used in a lot of today's metal just won't cut it. They're too thin and high pitched. You need something with a little more beef in it.

There are actually a few of us 80's lovers around here. Some are old timers, like me, that were actually around during that time. Then there's other youngsters :)lol:) that have good taste in music and love it/play it as well. :)

I've tried a couple of things to get that sound.
1: get some room in your guitar tracks. maybe set up a room mic and a close mic.