Alt-Rock/Emo Mix

prabblerabble

Nov 22, 2013
https://app.box.com/s/y98wlainm262m6wtq6mu

I'm mixing/mastering a song for a friend, he's going for an early 90's emo (American Football) meets more contemporary pop-punk (Paramore, My Chemical Romance, Fall Out Boy) feel. The guitar tone is pretty jangly, but I thought it fit the music style he's going for. I'm using LePou's HyBrit through LeCab and God's Cab impulses blended with some Marshall impulses I found on another forum.

The drums are SSD 4, Chunky Rock Kit blended with some other SSD samples. I still have to mix the vocals, but I thought I'd do a quick master with the instrumentals to get an idea of the final product. I'd love some feedback on how it's sounding so far, and any tips on mixing vocals, cause frankly I'm pretty new to that field. :loco:

Thanks a bunch,

Prabhu

Guitars feel a bit too detached from the rest of the band, a bit too upfront. There's loads of room and space going on with the drums, but the guitars don't sound like they are there as well. I mean this mainly for the 'lead' / melody guitar. The more backing guitars fit well. Maybe try to sit that upfront guitar a bit further back? You may find when the vocal is there that you want to do this more readily because the vocal will become the focus in your mix.

Maybe you coul also just glue it all together a bit via a suitable compressor on the master buss after pushing the guitars back a bit, I'm talking a very small -1-2dB GR.

The tone is good - really fits the sound they are going for, a sort of pop-punk approach on early 90s emo - HyBrit was a good choice. Where did you get the Marshall impulses from? (I'm interested as my band has similar influences).