Alternate or economic picking ?

Sep 8, 2002
France
Visit site
I recently came back on a guitar site, where I saw a sentence I didn't saw 1 year ago when I started playing guitar : "pick strictly up and down, don't take bad habits of picking 2 times down when blablah..."

So I started to fear from having made wrong since the beginning, but after having take a look at a guitar board, it looks like I'm far from being the only one who does this mistake.

What d'you think about it ?
Maybe it's better anyway to start learning with alternate picking so that rythmics are easier to perform ?
Personnally, I started with playning lot of scales, and economic picking came naturally (its obvious that when you want to go somewhere, you take the shortest way)
But it looks like there are the pro-alternate, pro-economic, and pro-the right picking for the right part.

Opinion ? Experience about that ?
What about the pros ? Like Alexi ? paul Gilbert ? They play economic ? Alternate ?

You mean you would play this like that :

.....D.U..D..U..D.U..D.U..D..U.D..U..D..U..D..U..D..U
E||-------------------------------------------10-12-13-||
B||----------------------------------10-12-13----------||
G||--------------------------9-10-12-------------------||
D||------------------9-10-12---------------------------||
A||----------8-10-12-----------------------------------||
E||--8-10-12-------------------------------------------||

...and not like that :

.....D.U..D..D..U.D..D.U..D..D.U..D..D..U..D..D..U..D
E||-------------------------------------------10-12-13-||
B||----------------------------------10-12-13----------||
G||--------------------------9-10-12-------------------||
D||------------------9-10-12---------------------------||
A||----------8-10-12-----------------------------------||
E||--8-10-12-------------------------------------------||

cuz' maybe it's because I learned this way since the beginning, but I find it waaaaaaay faster.