amp help

xOrdinary_Storyx

shredder
Jan 24, 2004
deviltown NJ!
hey everyone. when i play with my band, my peavey classic 50 with my pedal has always been enough. Now that were taking our music and sound more seriosuly, im looking for a well rounded metal amp. should i go with some midrange priced amp (5150, xxx, etc) or should i save more for a higher priced one (dual recitifer, mode four). im still in high school, so at the rate i make money, the difference in price of about a $1000 or so is a very hard to obtain amount, but i figure its worth it. any feedback will help.
-Alec

HEY, 5150 is an awsome amp..but i think its too pricey. you can alwasy get a used marshall head for half that price. ive been using the same marshall head for over 10 years with no problems. there are some really good solid state amps out there too. just go mess around at the store.

sixnutfury said:
HEY, 5150 is an awsome amp..but i think its too pricey. you can alwasy get a used marshall head for half that price. ive been using the same marshall head for over 10 years with no problems. there are some really good solid state amps out there too. just go mess around at the store.

yeah. i like the 5150 for metal sounds, but from what ive heard, theres two bad things about them. 1) the clean channel, 2) running an effects loop thins the sound like hell. i like some of the solid state stuff thats out there, but when it comes down to it, im more of a tube player...just like the sound more. anything i buy will most likely be used, so i just need to look around i guess. thanks bro.

Look into Laney, like maybe a GH100L head, or, my personal favorite, a Crate Blue Voodoo. You can get lots of good tube heads on ebay for real cheap, just gotta shop around. But let me tell you now, dont buy a solid state amp, if you're going to spend that much money, buy a tube amp that will last you forever with great tone.