Amps, pre-amps, cabs, stomp-boxes... What?

dill_the_devil

OneMetal.com Music Editor
Hey! I've been playing guitar for almost two years now, but I've just been using a new Maverick X-1 guitar with a crappy 40-watt training amp (Kustom). I'm looking to buy a new amp and an FX pedal (specifically a POD multi-effects pedal) but I keep hearing about things called pre-amps, stomp-boxes and cabs. What the hell are these things? Will I need them if I get into a band (me and a friend are thinking of forming one)? What do they do? And more importantly, how much do they cost?
Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated - please excuse my 'orrible ignorance!

well... a stomp box is just another name for effects pedals or footswitches.

Cab is your speaker cabinet, and pre-amp is a bit complex for me to go into.

IMO - a decent 2x12 combo (that is, an ampflier with 2 12 inch speakers built in) is all you need to play guitar in a rock or metal band. I've had 1/2 stacks (amp + 4x12 speakers) and played with guys who had full stacks (amp + 8x12 speakers) and unless you are planning on playing open air stadium gigs, it's just overkill.

Big gear looks cool on stage and all, but think about how you've gotta pack all that shit up and carry it up stairs and into your car after gigs and band practice. It's not fun.

Personally I'm not into effects pedals, but amps that have a really good distortion sound built in can be a bit expensive. If you don't mind spending big money, I'd say check out a mesa boogie dual rectifier, which is what I play. I can't imagine a better sounding amp. If you're into effects though, perhaps check out a Line 6 Flextone, which has all sorts of crazy shit built in. I tried one of these out and was blown away, if I didn't already have the Mesa I'd probably buy one of these.