another question from the new guy.......

slingblade

I AM HE.......
Jan 19, 2002
massachussetts usa
Visit site
ok, we've established the fact i'm a newbie and i'm looking into buying some opeth. so far, all i've heard are samples and i'm sold already on these guys. i'll be ordering SOMETHING off the net today, because i'm an impatient fuck and i'm not gonna wait for someone to special order it and give me the fuckin reacharound when it takes 2 weeks for them to get it. so, i actually have 2 questions here. the first being, (i'm assuming most of you already have all or most of their releases) which would you recommend a new fan to purchase first? (my thoughts right now are to get blackwater park and work my way down the list) i will wait and see some replys before i order anything. and secondly, you guys have recommended some sites to buy it from but which would be the most expediant? i noticed amazon.com had the us release or an import for $2.00 more of blackwater park. ok, i lied this is the third question, is there a difference between the two? your replys again are greatly appreciated................:)

I would personally recommend getting MAYH. It has the most anger and aggression of all the Opeth releases, has a ton of twisted riffing, and most importantly, some of their most memorable and dark melodies ever. I find it to be the album that best encompasses what Opeth is all about.

Orchid=The debut, progressive interesting metal.

Morningrise=This showcases Opeth's single-note harmonies in a very prog-like setting.

My Arms Your Hearse=This is Opeth straying into melodic, twisted death metal, with more power chord work than previous albums. And has a very dark production as well...