Anyone else see At The Gates in LA last friday?

mva801

Nov 18, 2009
Man I was so disappointed with this show. Had to come from San Diego to LA. Traffic, parking, blah blah.

Converge was ok, but they only really played one older song. Concubine at the end as always.

The sound at this show was atrocious. At the Gates I was SOOO excited to see. I've always loved Adrian Erlandsson but he seemed to be just a little bit off. I've seen him play tighter shows. Everyone else in the band was pretty on, but oh god the snare.

Something was wrong either with the trigger, the sound module, the snare mic, or the gate. I only heard the snare for like half the hits when ATG was on. WTF. How in the goddamn hell was there no attempt to fix or change that at all? 30 seconds into the first song i was thinking, someone needs to fix that snare. It's only firing half the time. I don't know if the sound guys were asleep but it was really bothersome. Especially because I'm a drummer.

I figure if the trigger is having problems, they should be able to turn up the snare mic and get us at least a little going. Was I just smoking crack???

And the crowd at metal shows really gets on my nerves nowadays. Maybe I'm just getting old but I'm over getting shoved in the back by some drunk neanderthal nowhere near the pit and getting beer spilled on me constantly.

Ok rant over. Hope you guys get to see a bit better version of this tour than I experienced.

I was there! I found their set time on Instagram earlier in the day and only showed up for their set so I can't comment on the openers.