Anyone ever use NAPSTER?

Jasonic

Doom On!
Apr 14, 2004
West Burbs of Chicago
I received a Napster gift card for X-Mas that I completely forgot I had. I think I simply put it in a drawer, assuming the site would not have anything decent to download.

Last week I found the gift card, so figured, what the heck? I searched the site to see what they have.

Much to my surprise, they had a few SATURNUS releases!!!

I used some of my credits to download select tracks from VDTD and their first one.

I then transferred the downloaded tracks to my MP3 player.

Much to my dismay, when I went to play these tracks on my MP3 player in my car this morning, my player displayed "FILE FORMAT NOT SUPPORTED"

F*ck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anyone else experience this with NAPSTER (if you have used them).
Is there a way to convert these files?
Luckily, I also burned the tracks to a CD, which I am spinning now.

I am an extreme novice when it comes to downloading, and transferring to the MP3 player. I have no problems when I burn tracks from CDs and then transfer to my MP3 player.

Thanks.....

I'm not in the habit of downloading music and it's probably a good thing to not be addicted to it. Today I read an article in the latest issue of Rolling Stone magazine (w/ Pink Floyd on the cover) that the RIAA is sending out letters to colleges around the country asking them to forward them on to certain students whose IPs they collected. They're asking for something like $3K to settle and if it goes to court and the students lose they could end up owing way more than $3K!

It was a very disturbing article.

By the way, the PF article is greaaat! :D

Edit: The RIAA/downloading article indicates that the schools with the worst offenders are Purdue and Ohio State. Anyone here go to Purdue?

I have personally never posted a song to a website.
I believe Napster is currently legit, right?