Applying For Near Min. Wage Jobs?

Draehl

Lurker
May 31, 2004
Atlanta 'burbs
It's been just over a year since I graduated college and still no "real" job I was expecting with my finance degree. Still living at home, but parents are pushing hard to retire and I'm their current road block (drain) until I get a job.

So that being said I think it's time to look at trying to get something along the lines of a stock clerk at a grocery store or something similar. How do you think I should approach that type of scenario? Go in there guns blazing with my finely tuned resume and a nice suit and tie or play things down a bit? I can see the merit in both. Distinguish myself from your average applicant vs. not looking like I'll leave the moment the job market turns for the better (which is 100% true)

Thoughts?

That sounds tough man but i reckon it's always better to be over qualified than under qualified and those kind've jobs have a high turnover rate with employees,employers at these kind've jobs are used to over qualified students and most likely would expect that you would'nt be hanging around for ever anyway.

Have you gone to a temp agency? With the sorts of jobs they offer (if any are available) there is often potential to be permanently employed by the companies in question

Have you gone to a temp agency? With the sorts of jobs they offer (if any are available) there is often potential to be permanently employed by the companies in question

I have talked to a couple and they even hooked me up with some interviews, but the ball always seems to get dropped before any word positive or negative gets back to me. It ends up in a game of phone tag and after a couple weeks of that you can't help but give up if they don't show the slightest interest in you.

Edit: I'm sure they're busy, with so many people unemployed so it's understandable, but frustrating.

With all due respect, how are you interview-wise? Do you think it may be you that is keeping you from jobs?