Are you riding the Waves?

pikachu69

mixomatic 2000
Jun 7, 2010
New Zealand
I am a newbie here and this is my first post.

Being my first post I thought I would start with a rant.
That should get me popular in no time. lol.

Before I start my little rant, however, I just want to comment on how amazing this forum is and that I have learned so very much from you all and I thank you every day I read this, which I have been doing every day for months now.

Plugins are amazing in that you can take a perfectly shit mix, :puke: chuck a few plugins on each track, :Spin: quantise the shit out of it, :err: and end up with a half decent mix. Maybe not an Andy mix :worship: but compared to what it was before 1000 hours of editing it sounds like gold shit at least :bah:.
Before plugins there was no rescue mission, if you could not get it on tape you had no business being in the studio in the first place. This also meant the musicians had to be far tighter and more diciplined as there was no one to wipe their musical booty if they missed a note or played off time. (And yet now even though we have unlimited undos, retakes and drop ins we still need someone to tighten it up a bit more lol)
This has also brought about a new generation of lazy, un-rehearsed musicians. If I had a dollar for every time I heard "yeah I fucked the riff up but you can fix it later,eh?" I'd have $57.
Not only do these plugins perform absolute miracles but they are also easily available and compared to the cost of its hardware equivalent, a mere drop in the ocean.

This brings me the main point of my rant. The cost of plugins.

At the upper end of the scale Waves and UAD produce some of the finest, albeit most expensive, plugins but are they worth the thousands of dollars you could pay for a suite of these shit shining beauties?
I say HELL YEAH!