Batteries or power supply for stompboxes?

TRA

Just another nobody
Feb 17, 2009
Doing a little market research here. I've been building stompboxes as a hobby for about 12 years now, and I've always used a 1Spot power supply to power all of my stuff. As a result, I don't put battery snaps inside my enclosures.

How do you prefer to power your stompboxes? Batteries or power supply?

I always had problems with ground or hum noises with power supplies, but i hated to use batteries.
Then I bought the Boss PSA-230 together with a daisy chain through the ns-2 pedal to power all pedals and its dead silent.

I've never found much, if any difference. Recorded plenty of stuff using a power supply and I've never once been left thinking "man, those guitars would have sounded so much better if I used batteries"

I've never come across a power supply that failed mid-set like a battery.

Been using batteries basically my whole life in pedals.

It does become a pain to have to change them.

ALSO - this reminded me that my little "snap" thingy on my NS-2 is ripping in half. =/

Batteries are technically "better" in the fact that they are consistent and clean power... at least until they start running out of juice anyway.

I cannot stand using batteries. Yes they are less noisy, but the feeling that a tap is running while I'm playing annoys the shit out of me. I find it bothersome enough as it is with just an active guitar pickup...and those can go with a single battery for a looong time :D

Isolated power supply is the way to go, unless you have a fuzz pedal and want a specific type of tone that only certain batteries can offer. Given that most people here play metal, I doubt that's the case. The PP2+ is really the best on the market for the price. If you don't need all that versatility, the ISO-5 is the next best choice.