Beginning guitar

McCherry

New Metal Member
Jun 28, 2011
Hey everyone, I'm new to the guitar and I was wondering what to do to improve. I've got lessons for a year but then I quit due to school. If anyone has any tips on where to start again do tell me.
Thanks! :p

Preferably metal, I can play the half of Nightmare by Avenged Sevenfold, I know some chords but that's it really...

Hello McCherry,

I realize this thread is a bit old but in case you're still around..

I recommend 3 things that I guarantee will get you off to a good start.

1. Get a metronome and USE IT. Metronomes are often neglected but they are incredibly important in learning to play things quickly and cleanly, plus they make it easier to start playing with a band since you'll be used to sticking to a beat.

2. Consistency over quantity!!! If you sit down with a metronome for a mere 20 minutes per day to practice, I guarantee you that you'll be better than most random people in just a few short months.. But only if you remember to...

3. Put QUALITY over quantity as well. If you sit around playing sweet home alabama for 12 hours per day, you still will never improve, whereas practicing exercises for 20 minutes every day with consistency will yield unbelievable results. Try finding some exercises and build a little folder full of them. Pick a couple every day and get to work!

If you do those three things, I guarantee results. In addition to those three most important things, I'd also strongly recommend GOAL ORIENTED practice. Make a log of your progress. Try checking your speed and rating how clean you play and then check again every couple weeks so that you can see results. There is nothing more encouraging than to monitor your progress then check and see you really are getting better after all.