Breaking The Law

Eddy

Old fart on this board
Apr 15, 2001
Fin fuggen land
Finally!

It took it's time but now I have the drums basically ready. All I need now is to mix all the 7 tracks together and it's finished.

What I need now is some tips on the mixing job. I haven't done much of anykind of mixing, and this is my first attempt at drums...

I uploaded a clip of a raw mixdown, it's just the tracks mixed together with no effects of anykind and I didn't alter the volume levels either. Here's a link to that clip: http://koti.mbnet.fi/ezzyk/music/clip2.mp3

All suggestions are welcome. :)

Eddy said:
Finally!

It took it's time but now I have the drums basically ready. All I need now is to mix all the 7 tracks together and it's finished.

What I need now is some tips on the mixing job. I haven't done much of anykind of mixing, and this is my first attempt at drums...

I uploaded a clip of a raw mixdown, it's just the tracks mixed together with no effects of anykind and I didn't alter the volume levels either. Here's a link to that clip: http://koti.mbnet.fi/ezzyk/music/clip2.mp3

All suggestions are welcome. :)

I think that you'll need to bring the high hat level down, especially the pedal hat sound. The kick drum is really massive, you might need to back off on it a little bit too. It's hard to tell right now for sure without hearing the drums mixed with other instruments.:cool:

Do you plan to keep the tracks until the final mixdown? I think what you have will suffice to record to..then once all the instruments are done, we can fine tune the levels of each. I pretty much agree with Hyde's comments.

Yeah, and if, for some reason, I delete the files I can always hammer them down again from the original IT file...

I'll upload the whole track asap to my webspace. Will post the link later.

Oh, and that pedal hat is there just to help keeping the timing, I intend to leave it off from the final track as the original doesn't have it either. :)