Clipping in Cubase for no reason... WTF

NickL

I'm not here.
Jan 31, 2007
Illinois
Hey guys long time no see. Been busy doing nothing. :lol:

I've got an issue and can't seem to find anybody else having the same problem. Whenever my mixes get too loud I'm getting some serious clipping on the whole mix... Sounds normal, right? Only problem is that I have a limiter on the master bus set to -.2 :erk: the clip indicator on the fader isn't even going off. I changed the meters to read pre-fader, post-fader, post-panner, but I've got no clipping going on anywhere. It's the damnedest thing. If anybody's got any ideas I'd appreciate it.

Be sure to check that there's no plugin that has set itself to some strange values (I have a few plugins that do random things when you reopen a project). See that there's no plugin in the master chain with some strange reset settings like EQ boosting +15 dB at < 40 Hz for the entire mix or things like that. My favourite is the Sonitus R3 Reverb that gives a LLLLOOOOOOOOOOUUUUUUUD! ka-tschhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh sound in a few projects. And the decay time is something like 20 seconds, even though the settings aren't even near that. Probably a bug.

Soundcard drivers might be fucked ... try reinstalling those and see what happens!

Good luck :)

That is exactly what i was thinking.. start with the source first, the soundcard... then check your speakers, try headphones and see if you get the same clipping noise.

The limiter plug-in may be at fault. Mixdown and zoom in on the peaks (in WaveLab or similar). You may have simply flatlined at -0.2 instead of 0dBfs, some limiter/maximizer plugs will do this.
AFAIK the clipping indicator only lights if you exceed 0dB, it doesn't check for consecutive samples of the same value. Pedantically speaking it's a "you're out of headroom" indicator rather than a detector of clipping.