Contemplating picking up guitar or bass...

Porksoda

Jun 1, 2005
So I've been a classical musician for most of my life now, about 13 years. In that time I have dedicated myself to pretty much just french horn, and as much as I love it, it is one of the most non-versatile instruments in terms of different genres and styles of music. For a while I loved Primus and wanted to learn bass, and I still kinda do, and then I found SymX and I wanna learn guitar.

I am having difficulty deciding between the two, so I would appreciate the input of fellow musicians on the pros/cons of each. Also keep in mind anything I say here is my (uninformed) impressions so feel free to educate me.

I'd say, to me, the draw of bass is a lot of the really crazy stuff that Les Claypool can do with it, making it a really viable leading instrument over guitar. I also see it is also more of a melodic instrument and less of a chordal instrument than guitar, so I feel I would understand/relate to it better coming from brass. Also, I love the impact you get with the deeper range of the bass. However, I feel like the bass doesn't get a lot of love in metal in it's own right, and is relegated to mostly support of guitars and drums with an occasional solo thrown in. If I am wrong here, by all means bitch-slap me and put me in line.

As far as guitar, one need only listen to MJR to understand why I want to play. :) Incredible, INCREDIBLE dexterity! The tonal flexibility of the instrument also really appeals to me. Also, the I love the combination of rock/metal with themes taken from already familiar classical works in prog metal.

Pros and Cons... Discuss...

Of course they're quite different in some ways, but if you can play one well you shouldn't be too bad on the other. Except maybe bass to guitar, because of the extra strings and stuff... Oh well. The guitar is my domain, I don't really know bass.