Critique My Tutorial 'Tightening up Low End'

vindennl48

New Metal Member
Feb 28, 2012
Rhode Island
www.soundcloud.com
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WAk2cCJkgQo&feature=share&list=UUPYGt7hraZ_m0auWyPGQWxg[/ame]

Hey guys, I decided to make a tutorial video on mixing the kick and bass drum together and wanted your input on if the information I gave is correct/useful, for future videos, and anything I could have done better/differently. I'm fairly new to tutorials so any feedback would be much appreciated. \m/

There was no before and after comparison and you're kind of just pulling those frequencies from your pocket on top of explaining the purpose behind R Bass. If the bass/kick was tuned differently the fundamental would vary. I was able to follow it, but if someone new to mixing saw that and just used R Bass and made those cuts, it wouldn't make sense or be/sound right. I don't know what you're doing on your master bus or if you're doing some slight side-chain compression or anything.

Just my .02

I'll have to take a rain check so would check out your video later. Here's an example of how I usually avoid clashing the bass with the kick:

If the lowest playable note of the bass is E, I'd tune the kick to D or so.

If the song's in, say, drop C - I'd still tune the kick to a D. It doesn't necessarily have to be a D but for modern productions we want the kick to peak through anywhere from 60-80hz.

http://www.phy.mtu.edu/~suits/notefreqs.html

It's all in the sources. Mixing comes later ;)