Cymbal durability

B36arin

Dec 1, 2008
I wasn't sure where I should post this, but this should be the right section.

A friend of mine is buying new cymbals, and we were discussing which ones he should get. He's pretty broke, but he still wants to get quite expensive cymbals(Zildijan A custom, Sabian AAX) because he claims that cheaper cymbals break much faster. I have a hard time believing that there is such a huge difference in durability between a cymbal set(2x crash, china, hihat, splash) for 1400 euros than an equivalent set for 7-800 euros. Obviously the more expensive ones will sound better, but right now I'm only interested in durability, it's been bugging me a bit. Is the difference huge? Does anybody have any "cheaper" cymbals that they can recommend?

Are they being used for live or recording, or both? Bad sounding cymbals are an express ticket to bad drum sounds, so in my opinion he should get the A's or AAX if he can swing them.

As a drummer, I've broken a lot of cymbals, and I mean a fucking lot.

Durability is 100% going to come down to how hard he beats the shit out of them, both good, and bad cymbals will break. I have broken a ton of expensive cymbals.

The ones I'd really watch out for are the Chinas, I have literally broken 10+ chinas.

End of story is, buy the good cymbals, because bad cymbals sound insanely awful and ruin a drum sound completely.

Cymbals are very much an opinion thing though, everyone has different preferences,but IMHO, cheap cymbals sound cheap, the best thing I ever did was spend some money to upgrade to a better set

I would not recommend the AAX Metal cymbals. I used them for gigging mostly, but they were not as durable as advertised and were too harsh for good recordings. One thing I will say though, the bell on the AAX Metal ride cut through really nice in live situations.