Dat drum punch .......

bryan_kilco

Nov 22, 2007
Poconos, PA
Been trying to weed out my clarity issues lately.

I can get a decent sounding mix when it's just drums, bass, and guitars. As soon as I add vocals or leads, I start getting cloudy/masking, etc.

Just now I realized, in a BS mix I did for shit's n giggles this morning, that I have my drum bus fader peaking about -6 db while my guitar bus is hitting about -24 and bass hitting like -20. Things still sound punchy and clear.

But I find that, when I add vocals, I want to raise my guitars to around -18 or higher. I think my problem is surgical EQing and I've tried a bunch of times to just simply notch away freqs on guitar, boost that freq on vox, etc....with almost no luck at all.

I've been doing this as a hobby for like 7 or 8 years now and I feel that either I'm completely missing something stupid, or I just suck at mixing.

I feel like I get a good mix going, then reference to a pro-quality cd, and it brings me down so badly. These drums just SLAMMING and guitars right in your face, yet SOOOOO fucking loud. If I even get in the ballpark with loudness, my shit is clipping like mad.

TL;DR: Masking, unclear mixes when vocals present. And basically feeling down because it seems like I'll never be able to reach a mix like a lot of you guys here.

I know that feel bro, just keep in mind that "pros" usually use good to top notch gear in flat listening environments not everyone can afford.

Gave this a thought, without clips I would guess that the issue is that the vocals are not bright enough. If the instrument mix sounds good by itself, then the issue must be with the part that causes the problem. Perhaps you should hipass and hishelf more aggressively. Just a guess.

Hmm really? Actually, I cranked my monitors pretty good here for a bit and listened back and it seemed to sound better than the other day when I mixed it. Odd, considering I destroyed my ears at band practice last night.