Distorted Vox

nergal_S

St. Anger around my neck.
Nov 20, 2002
Los Angles
Visit site
Hello, i am starting my first band, and i have been playing guitar for a good 8 years now, my drums player is preat tight, and we have not found a bass player yeat. HOw ever i was wondering how do most death metal band get distorted vox? what fx do they use? What are you supsto do with the floor monitors?

Death bands typically don't use any effects on the voice at all, except maybe for some reverb. Death grunts is a way of singing - a technique that has to be learned.

It's different with industrial bands - they tend to use distortion on clean vocals instead of death grunts, but the sound is very different from death metal.

Floor monitors? You won't need to deal with those until you're playing larger venues. They are there to distibrute the sounds so everyone can hear each other play (so that guitarist 1 can hear what guitarist 2 is doing for instance).

/Sun'

Yep as Sunbane said most bands don't use any effects at all, I use growls ala Nile, Cannibal (clean also) and don't use any effects at all. You should learn how to do the growls the ''right'' way so you don't hurt your vocal chords doing it.

Originally posted by nergal_S
Were can i learn the right way to do growls??