Does anyone know how to make High/Low Pass Filters?

shred101

Nov 26, 2009
Does anyone know how to make high/low pass filters and can anyone advise me on what components would be most suitable for building them?
From what I can gather, they should be fairly simple with just a capacitor, potentiometer, resister and jack ins + outs. Kinda like on guitar tone controls maybe? Logically I deduct that youd have to stack 2 together to get the steep roll off that digital filters achieve but that still doesnt really complicate matters.
Im no expert when it comes to this stuff but it seems that they would be really cheap and easy to build.

The reason im thinking about this is that I use shedloads of DSP power on my digital desk just high/low passing stuff on input when it comes to recording multiple input sources at once and being able to farm out this simple task to a dedicated unit would save me tons of DSP power that I could be using for dynamics processing and normal corrective eq.

well in the simplest case, 2 variable capacitors, one double throw and one single throw switch would do it. However there's probably more commonly used configurations

sorry, and two pots

don't have a clue how to adjust the slope though.

Wouldnt you need a resister (or two) in that circuit as well though? Ive read that slope is defined by the resister value, capacitors set a frequency and the potentiometer is a control for the capacitor and thus the frequency cut off point. Feel free to correct me on any of this because im a noob when it comes to circuitry.