Drum Recording, Selecting Kit and Shells

Michiel

New Metal Member
Jun 29, 2012
Hi There

Firstly I’d like to thank everyone on this forum for some of the most amazing production techniques i have ever read and for your kindness in sharing:worship: I apologise for my rambling before actually getting to the point.

I have been recording bands on and off for the past two years in line with my career as a music teacher at a local music college, I have always tried to record each band/group regardless of genre to the best of my abilities. I have finally come to a point where I am getting a decent amount of inquiry and a steady income of new bands on a monthly basis. Here lays my dilemma, I have been offered a great opportunity working on a compilation album with some big hitters in the SA metal scene. I am dead scared but will give it everything to my last breath.

The project is to start middle October, my typical process is to book relevant studios for drums while usually tracking guitars, bass and vocals myself. I really enjoy the art of reamping, so I track dry which really helps me shape the sound I want when producing. However this time around i want to take full control of the process and focus on what i know is my weakest point: "Drum Recording":cry:. I trust the people I use and they typically get me a great raw sound, but we have the opportunity to get some awesome sponsors involved and I want to know exactly what is to be achieved before presenting the press package.

We have a standard collection of amps and cabs to do the job (5150II, 6505, JSX, Krank Rev, Fender Deluxe Hotrod), (Mesa 4x12 Oversized, Orange 2x12, Marshall 1960B)

I need a recommendation on a 5 piece drum kit, shells sizes, skins and cymbals (2xcrash, 1xride, 2xchina, 2xsplash), the style of music is modern metal. We have Pearl, Yamaha and Sonor available in SA, I think all known skins are also available here. I typically hire a techie for the tuning so that’s not an issue.