Drums?

Feicht

Oh man, that is hot!!!
Dec 18, 2004
Austria
i've been thinking of taking up the drums... if my living situation changes in the near future i'll be able to buy my own kit. now i know what to look for in guitars, but have no idea what i'm looking at with drums. how much could you get a used kit for that is halfway decent? i.e., nothing spectacular, but good enough for recording. my friend has this kit that i thought was totally shitty but when we recorded this song in a studio the drums sounded fine, so i dunno really where the line is drawn. anyway, anyone have any pointers on what to look for?

sonofhendrix13 said:
If your just starting out I wouldn't expect you to do that much recording.

well i've been playing guitar for 8 years and i'm writing songs all the time, i'm just getting sick of the limitations of a drum machine. i'm not deluded enough to think i'm gonna be the next flo mournier a week after i get em, but i would hope to be adequate enough to record at least for my own purposes within like 6 months. i caught on to guitar pretty quick at least...

you could probably get a cheap CB set or something. my old drummer used to play on a CB set until he could afford a nicer set. it'd be good enough to get the job done without blowing a lot of cash. plus more CT drummers would be a very very good thing!!

If you intend to record in a studio, rather than your home studio, you need not to worry much about quality - the average studio has got a halt-decent kit, some will also setup a custom kit you choose in beforehand...