Dummy load... build or buy?

NoSoup4you22

Keep on blorpin'
Feb 16, 2010
Minnesota, USA
www.myspace.com
Alright, so I've read and re-read the entire sticky thread here: http://www.ultimatemetal.com/forum/equipment/428323-home-made-dummy-load-tutorial-save-money.html

But there's so much conflicting information. Is it true that the method in the OP will ruin the amp? And if so, isn't it dangerous to have that stickied? :err:

On the other hand I'm a cheapass musician, and if there's a method in there that won't have consequences, I'm all for it. Either way I really need a dummy load because I keep waking up at like 8pm and being unable to record. FML

This is the resistor I was gonna buy: http://www.tube-town.net/ttstore/pr...ochlastwiderstand-8R2--8-Ohm----150-Watt.html

I'm wondering about the 8.2 ohms though, as I've heard tube amps need the exact impedance or lower.

Sorry about another thread on the subject, but I dunno if anyone's looking at the other one still...

EDIT: Alternately, I might just pick up a Tube Cube. Not a whole lot of information out there on it though.

Hey man, I'm glad you went through the whole thread... And yes, the whole OP is incorrect and dangerous. I'm also glad you're cautious and seeking a definitive answer on the subject.
Well, I can assure you that the most of the guys that clearly explained differences between serial and parallel wiring of resistors are correct, and here's the simple summary with the example of resistors with impedance of 8Ohm and 150W:

- SERIAL: If you put 2 resistors one after another you will get = 16Ohm and 300W (in this method both impedance and wattage are added to the sum)
- PARALEL: If you put 2 resistors next to each other and split the incoming signal to both of them you will get = 4Ohm and 300W (in this method impedance is divided by number of resistors, but wattage is always added)