External Harddrives (The Epic Question)

Buy an external enclosure from addonics and buy whatever internal HDD you want. Just avoid Maxtor.

The external enclosure should run you no more than $20 and you don't ever have to worry about it being set up funny - it'll treat any HD you put in there just like a fucking huge removable drive, so if you just put studio stuff and don't install any programs on there you can switch out all the HDs you want.

Jeff

NO MAXTOR!!! They are dog shit, I work as a G.I.S Administrator and we had some Dell Workstations that were equipped with Maxtor HDD's and everyone of them ended up failing!

I only bought an addonics at the time because it was $39.95 on ebay and I read many good reviews on them. That said, I bought two, and one of them has a bad fan but still works.

It can also be used for an external ROM Drive enclosure too! That came in handy one time.

I don't know of many ways to kill enclosures, so I won't comment on that - I just went to All Gen computers and got one, as soon as they're open I'll call and see what they carry (strangely, no brand name on mine).

Jeff

They've got a price range on those "front page" enclosures anywhere between 19$ and 29$, one was $50 I think. Surely the more expensive ones would be a higher quality, but you can't always judge a product by its price. We've got expensive stuff before on purpose because we wanted it to last and it would last less time than a cheaper brand. So I really have to try to trust the reviews and people's person experience and hope it works out ok. I don't want to spend a lot, too. x_X

Yep.....I record everything to my internal SATA and then move completed projects off to one of my external WD's. External USBs are good for portable storage, but not great for real-time recording projects.