Fabfilter Pro Q2, is it worth it? (Example inside)

Humidfume

Hey guys, been working on mixing all of today and recently got the demo's of Pro Q v1 and v2. Below is a comparison of them both in action, same track, same riff etc etc. With Pro Q 2 I used the new features it has (peak grabber etc) so YES the EQ's are different in how they sound on the track because they are both EQ'd differently.

What's the point in this test then? Well I'm not testing the sonic quality of the EQ's (I'm pretty sure they sound almost identical) I'm testing the concept of:
"If I mix from scratch using just my ears with Pro Q v1 this is the outcome" vs "If I mix using my ears AND the newly added visual aids of Pro Q v2, this is the outcome".

Pro Q v2 let's you do fullscreen editing (really helps me hear things better by removing distractions and putting me in the zone for EQ'ing. I also had the peak grabber to really see when I'm missing little peaks etc that I'm not experienced enough to catch by ear alone yet.

Enjoy and share your thoughts below!

Pro Q v1 (First 13 seconds)
Pro Q v2 (13 seconds onward)

If you like what I do and wish to support me you can drop me a like / check out my EP / Music on the links below.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tjppo
Bandcamp: https://tjpp.bandcamp.com

-Joe

Last edited by a moderator:
I upgraded to FabFilter Q2 as soon as it was released. I have the bundle after Total bundle, whatever that's called, so upgrading to Q2 was reasonable.

I don't hear much difference in Mix 2 sonically (it is a transparent eq afterall, so by definition it shouldn't be :D) but the Q1 is a fair few years old now and there have been many code optimisations. Q2 is not strictly sonically compatible with Q1 either, due to changes in the algorithms. Since i used Pro q on practically every channel I wouldn't be surprised if Q2 was more CPU optimised.