first clip, be gentle

unsilpauly

Jun 9, 2004
northampton, ma
www.borninblood.com
hey guys, hows it going. my name is paul and this is my first clip im sharing. its a real quick recording we did of a new song thats going to go on a local compilation.i know most of the stuff i dont like about it, but id like to hear your opinions as well. just a quick background- ive been engineering for about two years and am totally self taught. i engineer in my project studio in my home. i am learning more everyday thanx to this forum and other books i read, etc. anyway id like to hear what you think, the link is
http://www.audiostreet.net/artist.aspx?artistid=16046
i look forward to you replies. thanx in advance

wow, 50 somethings views and not one reply, it must be some kind of record. i was hoping to get some feedback, as i value the opinions on this site. is there a reason why no one has replied? let me know if you can please.

Pretty damn good for a first effort, man! Nice guitar tone!

Now, the gripes:

It's overcompressed & pumping like mad. Back off on your "mastering compressor" or whatever you use to get the mix loud. Louder doesn't always mean "better"

2) The drums sound weak. Lean to tune drums, as your drummer either won't or can't. Don't worry, this is a common problem. In my 15 years of recording, I've only met about 3 drummers that can actually do it. Go buy a Tama tension watch and practice, practice, practice.

3) On more drum notes: Tape a quarter or falam slam pad to the kicker, and don't rely on EQ for the click. That, and constantly check to make sure your drum mics are in phase.

Now, my question:

What was the guitar tone setup? Amp/Speaker/Mic/Preamp/Room?

Thanks,
-0z-

hey man thanx for the comments, well taken. first about the drums, my room is probably most of the problem but i don hear what you are sayin for sure. tuning toms is probably one of the hardest things to get right and make sound huge and cutting, working on that.